My room ...

... for the next couple of days.  Thankfully, it's a private room with a private bathroom.

My surgeon, Dr. B, stopped in first thing this morning and said everything went well with the surgery.  He removed the tail of the pancreas as well as my spleen ... just as planned.  The surgery was done robotically ... I have a total of five incisions .... one larger than the others as this is the extraction site. 

I can't say I slept all that well last night ... probably because I slept all day Wednesday!  It doesn't help that there are people in and out of your room all night long checking your vitals and seeing how you are doing.  I'm was only allowed "sips & chips" for my diet last night ... which is basically water and ice.  This morning I was upped to clear liquids.  

Richard arrived around noon as this is when visiting hours start.  I was sitting in a chair that was set up next to my bed.  They want you up and moving around as soon as physically possible and it felt good to be out of bed for a while.  I would move back and forth from the chair to the bed throughout the day. 

When Richard arrived he surprised me by bringing a deck of cards!  Now you have to understand .... he does not play cards/games EVER!  We had fun playing some hands of poker as that's the only game we could think to play that didn't take up a lot of space.  He's my hero! 

I did a lot of sleeping again today but at least I was more active than yesterday! And it was good to have something more than water/ice. 

Backblipped: May 22, 2021 .... finally trying to catch up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.