carliewired

By carliewired

At First Light

I was impatient
for some colour in the sky -
with some reflections

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck just after 5. It is a rather quiet weekend and morning is always the best for me. 

The locust trees beside my deck are in bloom. They have white clusters like pea blossoms and they smell like gardenias. The air is soaked in their perfume this morning. Bees and other insects love the blossoms, too. The trees are quick growing volunteers that I have encouraged. My deck could get unbearably hot on summer days, so I welcomed their arrival. For all their attractiveness, the trees have a dark side. They have ugly, long thorns on them so handling them is a challenge. 

I headed out the door before 5:30 with a thought to drive to Mission Flats, the southwest shore of the Thompson River. I was hoping to catch some morning colour in the sky and have it reflected in the river. My surprise was finding more locust trees in bloom in Mission Flats. I've wondered where mine came from because I didn't see any others in my immediate neighbourhood. The flower clusters produce many seed pods that look like beans or peas. No doubt a bird has carried the seeds to my yard. 

I was back home having breakfast and sipping coffee about 6:30. No heart released this morning. It will keep for a spot along the Rivers Trail tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.