carliewired

By carliewired

Vantage Pt

I am drawn to the
rivers each day, regardless
of the day's weather

~ carliewired

We are on the last day of our Victoria Day long weekend. I had really planned to sleep in this morning. The spider that landed on my face at 2 AM obviously had other plans for me. My first surprise of the day was how fast I could exit my bed in the dark, in spite of my arthritis. I am sorry to report that the spider did not survive the experience. 

I was back in bed by 4:30 AM with hopes of reclaiming my night of sleep. Morning for me started at 8:30. I did the lazy breakfast with coffee and a croissant from the drive-thru and drove on to Vantage Point beside the airport. I do appreciate this spot on the Rivers Trail. It provides views of my mountains, water fowl and people out enjoying the trail. 

Salsify is in abundance. It has grown up tall against the wood rail fence. It makes for a very 'country look'. 

I left my quilted heart (#30) on a bench beside the Rivers Trail. 

I enjoyed watching this fellow who'd been running with his dog on a leash. He stopped by the dock to catch his breath, then took the dog down to the river, removed the leash and let his dog cool off in the water while he checked his cell phone. 

It appears we're in for some inclement weather for this week. We could use the moisture as some locations in our interior are very dry and we've had some grass fires already. In Kamloops, we are semi-arid with less than 14 inches of precipitation each year. Without our mighty rivers, we would be dust. 

We had a low of  15 C overnight with a promise of 26 C today. It's grey and windy. 

I need to tidy up my quilting fabric and get a planter by my front door finished. Or I might just have a nap! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.