By the Butterfly Garden

All my favourites
in the park have appeared just
for me this morning

~ carliewired

We had the threatened thunderstorm last evening. It arrived just as I was making my late dinner. I felt and heard it. Everything on my deck rattled and banged. The wind churned up the trees and blew rain onto my deck and window. This morning was still damp and grey. I took my time getting out with my camera. 

I arrived at McArthur Island with a very large take-out coffee. It was 9:30 and 10 C. I parked by the Butterfly Garden. Several city workers were busy touching up the garden. I was delighted to find the first blooms this morning. The purple iris, my favourite flower, was putting on a show. My own are very far behind these lovelies. 

I looked over the edge into the slough to see several Canada geese families. Some goslings were cuddled up with their mama. Some are losing their baby feathers. One family was out on patrol plucking at the green grass under papa's watchful eye. 

I got a shot of my mountains across the slough and the Butterfly Garden. Then, I took a shot of the slough by the foot bridge.

I was sorry to find one of my quilted hearts from the third week of April dangling on the fence. It was very bedraggled. Obviously it's been wet and now grubby. I replaced it with one of my four new ones for this short week. It wasn't there last week when I left a heart. I wonder what happened to the poor thing. 

I'm home for the day now with no particular plans. My daughter might be here for lunch. 

We might expect a mostly cloudy day with a high of 19 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.