South End of Schubert Drive

We've been given a
small reprieve in weather just
for today - give thanks!

~ carliewired

I was up and out on the deck before 5 AM to get this lovely rosy sky. The sun is now so far north in the mornings that I can barely capture it without my trees in the way. At 7:30 I drove down the hill to the southeast corner of our north shore. I got caught in the rush to work for so many. 

I parked in Overlander Park where I could see that the volleyball nets are up for the season. We bill the city as "Canada's Tournament Capital" and this was all over the nets. I had to think as a seasoned parent that this is really just one big kitty litter box that must make the neighbourhood felines very happy. There is nothing covering the sand when it is not in use. 

I walked off the Rivers Trail and down onto the beach. I was wearing my Birkenstocks this morning so I got my feet sandblasted before long. I could see that there is little beach available on the North Thompson. At points the water is lapping against the bank. There was still some beach on the Thompson River by the Overlander Bridge. That's a good thing as I spied a little blue tent that was pitched under the cottonwood trees. I looked across the river to Riverside Park, still under construction. The city has announced today that waterparks will open today, but not at Riverside. The railway bridge was difficult to see as I was squinting into the sun. 

I drove back along Schubert Drive and left my quilted heart on a bench along the Rivers Trail. I could see my mountains and their reflection in the North Thompson River.

I was home with groceries before 10 AM. I'm in for the day and will be requiring a nap very shortly. 

We have a day with mixed sun and cloud and a high of 22 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.