carliewired

By carliewired

Weeds and Wildflowers

The space between the
two bridges holds colourful
surprises for me

~ carliewired

I was out the door at 7 AM to release my quilted heart (#33). I picked the Rivers Trail between the Red Bridge and the Railway Bridge as the location. There was some urgency this morning as we were promised some rain. I wanted to be on my way home again before it started. 

I found it all rather quiet this morning. Not much for foot traffic along the Rivers Trail. A lady my age stopped to talk for a few minutes when she saw me with my camera. She was curious to know what I was finding for photos so we had a conversation about the trees and wildflowers around our city. 

There are still some people rattling around in the underbrush beside the river. As the water rises, anyone wishing to 'camp' will be challenged to find a spot. I don't feel that these people are a threat, but I am cautious and I mind my own business. 

As the season has changed the volume of vegetation along the Rivers Trail has grown and thickened. It is rather difficult to get a view of the river now. I decided today I would focus on the small things that were close at hand. The fringe between the trail and the river has largely been left ungroomed and unaltered by the city workers. It has been my source for blooms today. 

I managed to accomplish my goals and get on my way home before any raindrops landed on me. 

It was 9 C overnight with hopes for a high of 21C today. 

I hear my sewing machine calling to me today. It's a good day to be indoors. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.