Thursday/Diardaoin

I spent too much time in the car today, but it was worth it. 

After breakfast I headed south and reached the most southerly settlement on Harris - Roghadal. I took the very slow, single-track road through Na Bàigh on the east coast of South Harris. It is spectacular, but you need to have all your attention on the road and stopping places are rare. 

I took the main road to head back north, along the west coast of South Harris. It is wonderful too, and so different.  

I was back on Lewis for a very early dinner in Stornoway - you have to book a table for dinner and all the popular times in the places I had in mind were snapped up already. 

After that, I drove to the most northerly point on Lewis - Rubha Robhanais. Sunset is 22:08 here today, so that gives plenty of time to do stuff in the evening. 

If you go to the eastern end of the South Fork of Long Island, there is a place the locals call The End. Rubha Robhanais reminded me of that. 

I had it all to myself. 

I have about 20 possible Blips. I have gone for the cliffs at Rubha Robhanais. Over the horizon somewhere lie the Faroes. 

Extras - the harbour at Port Nis (3km east of Rubha Robhanais); a typical view looking north on the west coast of South Harris; one place where I was able to stop safely in the Na Bàigh and get a quick shot.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.