Spring has arrived!

Well today was IT! The hottest day of the year, so far. Well I think so - 23° in the shade and still is as I write at 6.30pm. 
 
I'd promised myself a walk through the new trails at Dunollie Woods after my daughter had done so with friends not long ago and recommended it. It seemed sensible to do it on a good day while the bluebells were in flower, so I set off around 11am. The woods are owned by the Dunollie estate, but leased to the Woodland Trust.
 
I’d been through the wood at various times, but this was the first time I’d completed the trails – and a great deal of up and down it was! Probably not much more than half a mile to get there, then a 1.5 mile trail with a climb to the top of Battleship Hill in between the two sections of the trail. As always, the views from the top are spectacular - two ferries were cavorting about on the water, trying to avoid each other!
 
I had intended to take my backpack with water and wallet, thinking I might detour to the ice-cream shop on the way back, but for some reason I made a last minute decision not to take it so ended up with no water! When I finally crawled home with aching legs after a three and a half hour ramble I drank a lot to make up for it! Quite steep in places, but well worth the walk if you’re in Oban on a good day! What made it really special today was the display of bluebells – acres upon acres of them! See - https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/visiting-woods/woods/dunollie-wood/
 
Quote of the Day:
 
Graham Joyce – “The bluebells made such a pool that the earth had become like water, and all the trees and bushes seemed to have grown out of the water." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.