Fronds and croziers

Well the hottest day of the year yesterday didn't really carry on as planned. It's been warm today, with hazy sunshine and a good breeze, but like so many days getting better as the day went on - lovely sunshine now, 6pm.
 
I popped down to the Walled Garden this morning as I was rather worried that my runner beans and peas might be needing a water. Fortunately they were fine, but I gave everything a really good soak which I think should last until I return with my next load of peas to plant - they're just germinating now. 
 
This Blip is of a new crozier on one of my favourite ferns, Lophosoria quadripinnata. A lot of the top growth was damaged during our week of freezing wind some while ago, but all three plants are re-growing – I must get them planted out before too long. I think it’s actually my all-time favourite fern – the one I planted at Arduaine grew to a huge specimen, with fronds almost 12ft tall! The underside is a beautiful pale blue. I remember asking a couple of ladies if they would come into the woods to be photographed under a fern – I think they were slightly worried. but I needed figures to show the scale! It’s a native of a lot of South America and when I was in Chile with friends in 2005 we saw it everywhere, even in tubs outside petrol stations.
 
Quote of the Day:
 
John Muir – "Only spread a fern frond over a man's head and worldly cares are cast out, and freedom and beauty and peace come in."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.