Garden Life

Despite the slight whinge about gardening in my previous blip I do enjoy the garden. In fact I’m sitting outside now on our deck doing this blip, the day after it should have been done.  The computer and I are under a steady rain of birch pollen, but it’s hard to be inside when the sky is blue, the sun shining, and the air is warm. This is how we like to think of summer, but the reality is often different. However, we’ll enjoy it while it lasts!
I was really tired when I did the previous blip, which I could understand because I had worked very hard, but yesterday I was still very tired in the evening, despite a fairly easy day. Too tired to blip, too tired to even watch TV! I had driven to town, done a little shopping, picked up some wood at the builder’s yard, been slightly shocked at the price, and unloaded said wood at home. Not an idle day but hardly a tough day either.
A picture of the builder’s yard was not so exciting so it’s another set of flowers from the garden. These cowslips just pop up in our lawn as weeds wildflowers but Jan has transplanted them to the steps where they look very fetching. The red variant is unusual but appears now and again. It’ll be interesting to see if it comes up red next year. The extra is the low-down view, cowslips as viewed by the mice.
The hay-fever season is really with us now. Everything gets covered. The car windscreen has to be washed before you can drive and when the garden gets watered in the evening you can see the pollen washing off every leaf. Even the sea sound has vast patches of what looks like green scum floating on the surface - more pollen!  I wonder if hay fever makes you tired? I’m not hugely allergic to birch pollen but when it is coming down in vast quantities I do get slightly itchy eyes even with an antihistamine tablet inside me.
It’ll be more garden work today. Either building a new raised bed, or starting work on a small extension to the veranda, a sort of leading in walkway step. Both jobs I enjoy a lot more than weeding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.