Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The start of summer

It is the start of summer today, 1 June, and what a beautiful summer day it has been. After that disappointing spring we have fingers crossed that summer will turn out to be every day as good as today. I had a few chores to do at home but eventually I got out to the woods with Xena. It was rather hot for her so we only walked for about an hour. She was very pleased to come across this tiny pond to cool her paws in and have a drink. I nearly stepped on what I thought was a snake, but when I got home and googled it and I think it was actually a slow worm, which is actually a legless lizard.
 
Gavin went to the office today and kindly took my camera in to Fixation to get the sensor cleaned. It suddenly showed an awful lot of sensor spots on the weekend. They were unable to remove all of them but said that if the remaining spots bothered me I could get the filter over the sensor replaced, as they have a new filter for my camera in stock which is quite unusual (another client wanted a new sensor but not the filter). I will see how I go and decide if it needs replacing.
 
Worrying reports about rising Covid cases again and talk of a third wave – I just never know what to believe, not sure if it is the government trying to make everyone be extra careful or it is something of genuine concern. If one is fully vaccinated surely a third wave should not be as risky as the previous waves have been - and yes I know that not everyone is fully vaccinated but the majority of the population has had one dosage which does help. Nearly 55 million people in the UK have had a vaccination, of which 22 million are fully vaccinated.

I had to wait in this afternoon for the gate man to come repair our electric front gate which would not close - not ideal as Xena could just run out onto the road (although she tends not to) The sensor has gone so he has ordered a replacement and will come back later this week to fix it, but there is another problem that he is needs someone else to come look at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.