Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RHS Wisley

Another hot day today, it reached 27C. But I am not complaining, after that miserable spring we had it would be quite ungrateful to complain about a bit of heat. Poor Xena feels the heat so I took water on the walk with me and she had water from the large pond. Thankfully the woods are not too busy as they were during other school holidays during lockdown - I guess many people have gone away for the half term break.

After lunch I went to RHS Wisley. The gardens were looking absolutely beautiful. I realised I missed seeing them this time last year due to lockdown, and it is a very good time of year to see all the summer flowers - alliums, irises, nigella, fields of buttercups and the wisteria is stunning. I particularly wanted to see the wisteria archway, which is still quite new so there are not that many flowers covering it (see extra). I was only there for an hour, it was too hot to walk around for any longer, but I have booked again for the weekend to take Gavin there. 

Last night I finished watching Mare of Easttown - possibly one of the best things I have seen on TV this year, Kate Winslet is superb in an Emmy worthy role and could easily give France McDormand a run for her money with her performance.

I paid my deposit today for a photographic trip to Iceland in February 2023 - who knows what things will be like by then, or how I will feel about such a trip - it won't be an easy one and in the winter conditions it will be quite challenging.

In the meantime I am getting excited about visiting London on Friday - first time in about a year. I am meeting a photographer friend to have a day of photography. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.