Travelling

Today I went to catch the train to Metheringham. I wasn't expecting the train to Sheffield to be standing where my train should be. I was even pleasantly surprised that we had a reasonably modern, spacious train instead of one of the oldest, rattliest trains available. It came as a less pleasant surprise when we set off backwards!

Anyway, I got off at the next stop - Saxilby - and sat there in the sun for 20 minutes reading my book until the next train back to Lincoln arrived. They did not charge me for my detour and I got to Blip somewhere I probably never otherwise would have done! A couple of other people made the same mistake - and as there's rarely many more than that on the train, I'd say the one we should have been on would be strangely deserted!

I'd called my Dad and explained the situation. He didn't mind too much as Estelle was there, cutting his hair and I arrived shortly after she had left. We got the paperwork for the Direct Debit done. He decided he wanted it to go out of his bank - now I just have to remember to transfer some each month from the one I manage to make up the short-fall!

Grace has gone down to London for a few days to see a friend of hers so I had to make my own way home. I thought my old train was running again - turns it it still isn't, so I had another sit at the station, waiting for a train. It was sunny, and I had a book so I didn't really mind.

Once back in Lincoln I nipped into town to the card shop for a Father's Day card and a birthday card for my Mum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.