An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A road well travelled!

Not quite so sunny this morning but that didn't matter as D and I were off to meet friends Lj & Derek at our old haunt Broadslap.

We were supposed to meet them for lunch the week before the first lockdown began last March, but being alarmed at the news, they and we began isolating a week before it became official, so our lunch date was cancelled.  We've been counting the days to out get together ever since.

It was so lovely to see them, especially as they were both looking so well (Derek is 93 and utterly amazing!)  And it was so lovely to be back at Broadslap.  It's been so long since we drove up that long track to get to the farm shop and cafe. It felt like our second home at one point!

We were so delighted to see each other that we spent almost 20 minutes chatting before we remembered to look at the menu!  A lovely lunch of steak ciabatta sandwiches and salad followed by coffee and coconut and cherry cake for me, Victoria sponge for D and Malteser slice for LJ & Derek.  

All too soon it was time to say goodbye and we left them with plans to meet up again when we return from up north.

Got home in time for David to leave again to take Alan for his monthly appointment with the hygienist.  He'd had his dose of diazepam so was very chilled.  She managed to work for about 15 minutes on his bottom teeth, which is progress!

I stayed behind to begin packing and making a list of the food we are taking from home to see us over the weekend (Tesco delivering to the holiday cottage on Monday morning.)  I also finished the bluebell painting I started yesterday and feel very happy with it as it turned out exactly as I had planned!  lol

Light supper of chilli chicken and now I am about to pack the yarn and hooks for the ice cream coloured summer blanket I'm crocheting.  After that I have to make a final decision on which books to take with me.  Given that my to-read pile is almost the height of me (ok I know I'm a short arse but it still equates for a fair number of books :-) it's a difficult choice.  They Young Team and my colour theory book are definites, two more to choose.

And with that it's almost 11pm again.  I have no idea where the evenings go! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.