Happy anniversary

…to us. We went out to dinner to celebrate 45 years since our wedding day. Isbi and MsPeahen were our bridesmaids. We had lots of laughs on our journey today listening to old songs from the 70s and remembering when we were young.

Today we travelled 200km from St George to Roma in outback Queensland. I wasn’t sure where the outback starts but there was a big sign welcoming us to Outback Queensland so I guess we have made it. The road was good and very quiet. We only passed one caravan in the first 25km and in total we passed 7 caravans, 4 cars, 1 semitrailer and one of the widest loads ever. I was driving and there was no way to overtake it without driving in the table drain so I sat behind it for the best part of an hour. It was OK as it was motoring along at 90 which was fast enough for me towing the van. Funnily enough there was an equally wide load coming from the opposite direction so both had to get off the road to pass each other and I was able to get around at that time. I’m not sure if other countries call the verge a table drain. The soil is heavy and rich and very muddy, most roads are closed after a shower of rain as they become unpassable. I sure wasn’t going to risk getting bogged. There are signs at each town saying if the road is open or not. 

I will add an extra for Silly Saturday. It is a bottle tree. A very large specimen which is over 9 metres in girth and was transplanted as a mature tree about 100 years ago. These are slow growing trees but the town is full of them. Fascinating to see. It was after dark and the light a bit flat, I might return tomorrow to see if I can get a better picture. It looks like there is a person trying to escape from it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.