Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RHS Wisley

A beautiful sunny day today, we enjoyed a run through the woods with Xena this morning - why couldn't the weather have been like this yesterday for my outing to London?

Ever since I achieved my LRPS in 2015, I have been thinking about trying to get the next level of distinction which is the ARPS (Associate of the Royal Photographic Society). I have had some ideas over the past few years but never felt that anything was good enough. While I still feel that way, I decided last week that I had better make a start so I booked a 1 : 1 online portfolio review with the RPS, but as they are so busy I thought I would have weeks to get something ready to discuss. Anyway, I received an email yesterday saying I must submit my images and Statement of Intent as soon as possible, so after breakfast this morning I spent the entire morning writing my statement, and getting the images ready in the right format to submit for review. By lunchtime I managed to get them off to the assessor - this is only the first stage of this journey, I am sure most of the images will not be acceptable but it should give me an idea of what to work on. Unfortunately due to lockdown no-one at the camera club has seen these or been able to give me advice as I was hoping. 

After lunch we went to RHS Wisley - although I was there a couple of days ago I wanted Gavin to see the gardens which are looking beautiful at the moment. I also wanted to buy a few plants from their garden shop as their plants really do well in the garden. I liked this display of flowers amongst the musical instruments and thought it was something different from another flower blip!

I have not had any time to look at journals today, I am getting behind as things have been very busy lately, but I will catch up when I can. We are now going out for supper with friends tonight, and then later Adam is arriving as he is playing golf at a golf course near us with friends tomorrow so has decided to stay the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.