The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Return journey

Last day in Pembrokeshire. Who knows where the time went? I haven't caught up with my blips yet.

GG and I left our bags at the B&B and took the bus into Fishguard via the harbour village above the harbour and the ferry terminal. These were built as houses for the harbour workers, when the harbour was built by blasting through a sheer rock face in the early 1900s. As I spent a large part of my childhood near Oban, I'm a sucker for a harbour and a ferry, and it grieves me to see the harbour empty: no ferries are running between Fishguard and Rosslare (Eire) at present, because of CoVid. Working harbours should be working.

In Fishguard we visited the producers' market in the town hall, which blipped Ceridwen had told me about when I visited her the other day. GG bought some cards and I got a gf cake. Then we went for coffee, and afterwards to the independent bookshop, which was superb.

At the bus station I made a huge mistake and got us on to the Haverfordwest bus, purely because it arrived before the town service. I soon realised it wasn't going to Goodwick, where the station and our B&B are located, so we got off and started walking down the hill towards the distant mirage of Goodwick. We only had 47 minutes to spare. GG suggested hitch-hiking, as it was an emergency, and the very first car stopped for us! We hopped in, threw ourselves into the B&B, picked up the luggage, and got to the station with 20 minutes to spare. This is a shot of the lonely platform at Fishguard and Goodwick.

In fact, I was right in thinking that this is a 'new' station, it was only re-opened in 2012, after many years, to serve the village of Goodwick and the town of Fishguard. The harbour stop is the terminus, and that's where I used to alight. We had three train journeys, with all the changes being quite stressful for various reasons, but around four hours later we arrived in Stroud, where CleanSteve picked us up and took GG home to her cottage in the hills. All's well, and we've had an adventure-filled holiday, with many short trips packed in We've enjoyed almost perfect weather, apart from some drizzle today. Who could ask for more?

I shall return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.