The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Escapism

When I finally got up today (I was tired in the morning, and  fatigue/achey muscles dragged me back to bed)  I made a sandwich and listened to the rest of the Mapp and Lucia discs I'd found the other day while tidying up. The recent CD-player cleaning process had worked, after several goes. I'm going to be thinking about this series for days. 

The books by E.F. Benson about Miss Mapp and Emmeline Lucas (Lucia) are set in the 1920s/30s in the South-East of England and Risehopme, which is probably Broadway, in the North Cotswolds. They deal with the lives of upper middle-class people, and Mapp and Lucia are furiously trying to outwit each other to be the de facto queen of the town and the hostess with the mostest. One could call it a comedy of manners. 

(I expect you knew all that, but I had to explain a little to a South African friend, to whom I am going to lend the discs). 

I also finished watching Decline and Fall on Amazon, and The Shining Girls on Apple TV+. The latter is based on a metaphysical novel of the same name. Time travel happens. Reality can be altered. A house can exert power over people. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.