The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Welsh poppies in an English churchyard

I was on the vaccination line at 8.15 am today, checking in recipients on an iPad. Most of the people were aged 45-55, having their second Pfizer jab/Jag.

Afterwards I had to meet some people, but annoyingly, not until 3pm. I managed to pass the time in various parks and by wandering around town, before meeting up in their garden, and then walking home, arriving about 4.45. What a day for my first back from holidays!

At least the vaccine check in is not tiring. Just repetitive. There were 497 patients scheduled for vaccination at this morning's clinic. Most turned up, plus a couple of extras. Seven vaccinators were on duty, and no one had to wait afterwards, because they were having the Oxford Astra-Zeneca, not the Pfizer. No one fainted, and nobody required a wheelchair to be pushed up the steep ramp.

I still can't hear people's surnames when they're articulated through a mask. This appears to be a common problem, making for some funny moments. Was it George Bernard Shaw who said, 'My name is Mr Fish, spelled Ghoti' ? He was, of course, talking about the vagaries of English spelling, but I know the feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.