Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Silly and Sad

Imagine how hot black steel gets when the sun is shining directly on it in triple-digit temperatures. It was time for me to attach a mitten to the handle. I used a rubber band to hold it in place. This year I tried my best to tuck it into the knit. Hopefully, it won’t get brittle too quickly. I thought that could be my silly Saturday blip. (OMG, after I posted I realized that I should remind everyone that this is rated G, so keep your minds out of the gutter!)

I took that picture on my way out to Walgreens. When I arrived at the store, I saw a little bundle of feathers near the entrance. It didn’t take me long to realize it was still alive because I could hear its tiny “tweep.” I know it’s not going to survive but I didn’t want it to meet its demise by shoe. I tried to pick it up to relocate it but as soon as it felt my touch, flapped its tiny wings and took a small hop. I was able to cajole it to the parking lot median but no further. I think it just pooped out. I left it relatively safe from humans. I’m just sad for the little guy. I believe it was a house finch. I put a photo of it as an extra :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.