The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Diary of a card seller

Arrived at market at 8.54 am. First customer purchase at 11.05 am. In between I set up the hall's music on Spotify, bought cello and cellophaned in excess of 10O cards, rearranged the stall a few times, made tea, made coffee, and threatened to read Mrs Dalloway without actually doing so. I also danced quite a bit, mostly behind my stall

From 11.06 until 14.02, I made 16 further sales, including two advent calendar cards. The smallest sale was £2 and the largest £14. I had a packed lunch, and bought ice creams from Iceland for some of my fellow inmates. The cats protection charity stall keeper bought some of my cards. I offered to donate her some jigsaws, and bought the above book from her, because the cover was delightful. The book itself is very funny, so far.

At approximately 14.50 we quit the market. I dropped off some flowers that another stall holder had given me, and the Bluetooth speaker that needs charging, in the car, and walked back to the market to meet friend J.

We went to the big charity shop to look for a sort of shelving unit that I need. They hadn't got one.(In fact I've just realised that I might have something suitable In a cupboard. It's stained green, but that could be altered).
Then we went to a coffee shop, where we ended up having a long conversation with someone I hadn't seen for about 26 years. He's totally grey-haired now. Used to be such a lovely blonde!

After the street got too noisy, we went to the bench at the top. After a while, J had to go home. I realised I hadn't even told her about my new job, because she she had wanted to know all about my holiday. Most people don''t!

When I got home I cleared the spare room (shock horror) because we will have guests on Monday and Tuesday night. Then I cooked the supper and was just in time to watch the opening ceremony of Euro 2021 in Rome. I felt emotional watching it: seeing crowds again, and the singing of Nessun Dorma, and the lady in the white dress with the flag-themed balloons floating off over the stadium, while colourful fireworks exploded, like candles on a giant birthday cake. Check it out online if you didn't catch it.

Then some people wanted to know about a trip that we're doing on Sunday. I was not supposed to be a tour organiser for this one! Thank goodness my friend D has managed to go on a Shearing's coach holiday to Portpatrick , and return safely today. It's his first package holiday since pre-CoVid times, and he's big on holidays, usually enjoying up to five per year. He gave it ten out of ten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.