The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Is that a wasps' nest or a meringue?

No, you're right, it's a wasps' nest!
(Scots joke, adapted).

We found this In the shed at work. I almost touched it! Had never seen one before. We got it out, because it was on a wooden tray and we took the whole thing out into the open air, wind and rain. There were still wasps flying around the shed so we left the door open, went to report the nest, then came back and locked the shed up again. Nothing else to be done.

Colleague J and I cleaned the nursery garden thoroughly, and even got rid of last year's autumn leaves from the AstroTurf. Henry the vacuum cleaner worked so hard that he had to have a little rest, but fortunately he recovered. What with the garden and then the wasps nest, we used the time well and worked through everything that was on the list. We had to keep taking off our PPE every time we left the room, then putting it back on again. There were no nursery children or other departmental staff in.

Rain and wind persisted after we left (I went back to the shed area to snap the nest). I missed the post office, because I'd forgotten that it shuts at three now. Three shops, a bagful of stuff and yes, the queueing at Waitrose meant that it was over two hours before I got home.

Fortunately Waitrose had quite sensible queueing arrangements, and when the rain became heavy, a man came out with a bundle of large bottle green umbrellas to hand out. Wimbledon without the tennis!

As there are no coffee shops or indoor public spaces open at present, I had to sit on a damp bench to write some birthday cards prior to posting them. Have you ever noticed how many of your friends have birthdays in clusters? This week, one on 9th, two on 10th, two on 11th.

When I got home with all the heavy shopping, I was so tired that I had to have a little rest. I think we had a lucky escape with the wasps' nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.