Refugee

Today has been day one of the Refugee Challenge for Jamie and I.   A number of people have said "I couldn't do that."   I think it's the hardest thing that Jamie has attempted in his fundraising.   It's harder this week because he's not at home although Aaron is also part of the Team and is taking the challenge very seriously.   Between us (them mostly) the Team has already raised enough to feed three refugees for a year ... but we'd love it to be more.  Jamie can be sponsored here

I think I will fed up with rice after a few days .... and today was the first time I ever cooked lentils!    

My day started down in Poole on the farm at 410am when the alarm went off on the egg incubator (!) in the room where I was sleeping on the couch.   I had no idea how to stop it!! eventually turning it off and on again which did the trick.   Sleep afterwards was fragmented by a restless Meg and the early dawn so I hit the road at 8, arriving home at 2.    Having now put in two and a half hours cleaning at work and given Meg a nice long walk, I shall sleep well tonight.

Some folk have been concerned that Jamie doesn't allow the challenge to affect his health - he was in hospital three weeks ago today.    He will actually be doing the challenge in two halves - four days with Aaron and three days with me when he gets back home.   (I'm doing the same days as he is.)   He's also making a few sensible adjustments given the complications he's faced since he signed up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.