Bird bath

Thanks for all your good wishes for my Dad’s birthday.  Here is his present in temporary situ.  We are trying to figure out the best spot to place it.  I haven’t spotted it In use yet but I can see it from my home working desk so should see some activity soon, I hope.

I had a day’s leave and we decided on an early trip to the garden centre cafe for coffee. That turned out not to be a very good start to the day as I had to tell off a very rude man as he was moaning about my mum ‘stealing’ his table.  It was the most bizarre thing and I think he was just a bloke that liked to throw his weight about and get his own way. 

Apparently mum was supposed to know he had decided he was going to use that particular table and not usurp it. He kept saying ‘I even had my hand on it’ which was nonsensical as mum headed to the table and sat down whilst he was talking to his wife in the queue behind us.  

I ‘think’ what had happened is that he had walked to the table and then decided he needed to chat to his wife in the queue.  We were in the queue ahead of them so when we finished, mum headed to a table whist I waited to carry the tray over.  Given we hadn’t seen these shenanigans we were blissfully unaware and were enjoying our coffee until he chose the table next to us and then started his moaning. The whole thing wouldn’t have been so laughable but for the fact we were the only people there so there were loads of tables to choose from.  

Once I twigged what was going on I was going to ignore his grumbling and might even have explained it was all just done in innocence if he hadn’t kept getting more and more loud and obnoxious.  Thankfully he shut up after I told him how rude and childish he was being and suggested he act with a bit more respect and decorum - although he did tell me I had ruined his day.  I think I let him off lightly really, mainly because his wife looked so uncomfortable. I had the feeling it was her day that would be ruined really as she looked rather cowed around him.

At least the day got better after that start and we had a very pleasant lunch out after running some chores.  No rude people during that episode, thankfully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.