Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Leggy

One of my favorite tiny flies to try to photograph in the summer is this very common Long-legged Fly.  They measure about 1/4 inch making them challenging.  And, well, they are flies so they...fly.  This is a huge family of flies but I am fairly certain this one is in the Genus Condylostylus.  


As expected, it has been hot and humid outside all day.  Not conducive to spending a lot of time outdoors, especially as it seems to make my rash much more uncomfortable.  So, it's been quick sorties outside then back inside to cool off.  All in all, an acceptable way to spend the day.  

I have been drowning in baby bird cuteness.  I caught a quick glimpse of a fledgling catbird and the stream of young downy woodpeckers is non-stop.  And at the top of the cute-o-meter were a family of chipping sparrows - mom, dad and two needy kids.  The kids make the cutest noises as they follow the parents around begging for food.  I haven't gotten "the" shot of them but haven't given up.  Stay tuned.

I don't want to get ahead of myself, but I really think I've turned the corner with the nasty rash on my chest.  It doesn't look much better but it seems to be less itchy.  Radiation isn't for sissies.  

I'm enjoying a delicious square of dark chocolate flavored with raspberry.  And I may have a glass of something red tonight.

Be safe!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.