Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Perplexing...

Meet Bombus Perplexus, the Perplexing (or Confusing) Bumble bee.  Last year was the first time I identified this species in our garden; this year I've been on the lookout for them.  They are aptly named because the range in coloration between queens, female workers and males can be extreme.  They are a bit smaller than the more common Eastern Bumble Bee (B. Impatiens) and much fuzzier.  Also, the thorax is completely golden in all sexes which distinguishes them from most of our other Bombus species.  They are not all that common, so it's a treat to see one.  I believe this is a female worker, although I'd not stake my life to it.  A view of her fuzzy bottom in Extra.

Had a really nice long chat with my parents this morning and got to wish my Dad a happy Father's Day.  I can't wait until I can deliver a big hug in person.  

By the time we finished our call, it was almost noon and the heat and humidity had cranked up to a fairly uncomfortable level.  So, I made quick sorties into the garden, returning to the house when I started to get overheated.  Then I lay down for a few hours this afternoon.  

The rash is the same - an irritating combination of painful and itchy.  I will be seeing the oncologist tomorrow after my (second to last) treatment, so I'll ask her about it.  I guess I hoped it would be better by now.  Not the worst thing, but annoying and uncomfortable.  

My plan tomorrow is to have my kayak loaded onto the car when I go to radiation so I can go straight out to one of the lakes from there.  Might as well take advantage of my morning energy peak!

Hubs and I shared a couple of squares of dark with raspberry today.  

Have fun, be safe.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.