Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Tender Moment

Alan and I had a day off from working on the house today and went out!  There was an artisan market in Colwyn Bay that we wanted to go to, which was good and then I took Alan to the Zoo.  It's the first time he's been and was keen to see little Vicky the young chimp who he's fallen in love with.  

I haven't been able to say anything but the day before I started volunteering at the Zoo, a new chimp was born to Tuppence, the chimp I Blipped the other day..  The Zoo don't announce anything about new babies being born for a little while, to make sure everything is ok, and whilst I managed to get some early photos of her, we were all asked not to post anything on our social media.

The baby is doing very well though and is now 5 weeks old.  We now know it's a little girl but she doesn't have a name yet, and still hasn't been officially announced, but she's now very visible and visitors are noticing her.  Tuppence is a very good mum and also has another daughter, Jessie who was born in 1999, and I think this is probably Jessie who's with Tuppence and the baby as she spends a lot of time with her mum. I've added an extra of the baby.

This afternoon we went to Clare & Mike's cafe in Llandudno as Clare had mentioned that they needed some photos of the cafe, so I offered to take them for her.  It was another first for Alan as he's not been to the cafe before, and he helped take the photos as I took both cameras and had my wide angle lens on one and a prime lens for more arty shots on the other.  We also had lunch while we were there, and then nipped into town as I wanted to get some new trainers.

On our way home, we stopped at the Little Orme and walked to Angel Bay which is famous for seals.  There weren't any there today, but apparently they're seen there in the winter months for the pupping season.  Last winter there were 247 seals spotted and their numbers are increasing, so fingers crossed for later this year!  

Back home for apero in the conservatory before dinner - it's been a great day off!  Hope you've had a good one too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.