pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Popping Out

I’ve not been complimented on my poppies before, so it was nice to unexpectedly break that duck and not before time.

The fact that I hadn’t consciously planted the white poppies nor even knew that that’s what they were, is entirely beside the point. I am appreciative of the nice old lady who called out to me with the compliment as I was fettling around with the car.

The fettling was taking place as I was off for an overnight stay a little way away. I had a date with a nice lady booked in and wanted to be be able to relax with a drink and not worry about driving home. I wasn’t aware when I agreed to meet this evening that it was the date of the clash betwixt England and Scotland, but as it was to turn out, I didn’t miss an awful lot anyway!

Besides, I had good company. There is a little irony in that I had only logged back into the dating app (I forget what it was called - massivepainawaits.org, preparetobeemotionallycrushed.com something like that) as I realised they had taken yet more money from me in exchange for their intolerable cruelty. Just before I fully shut down, deleted and obliterated my account, I was drawn to one very pretty face in particular, so chanced my arm and sent a message, which to my amazement was answered and a correspondence ensued leading up to a really good dinner complete with a fine bottle of Malbec served at that perfect temperature you get in restaurants. 

We had a nice time together and will hopefully see other again, but having been down this often painful road before, in the interests of self-preservation, I shall not be “counting the poultry before it’s incubated” (thank you, Moira Rose) and shall instead choose to enjoy any future nice moments, in the moment.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.