A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Eddie

Today is Father’s Day here in the US which traditionally means grills and bbqs are fired up and families have gathered to celebrate and honor their fathers, husbands and grandfathers • It’s a grand day too, sunny and warm, exactly the way the first day of summer should be here in Maine • MrsP and I both lost our Dads long ago but we still talk about them often. For Father’s Day I’d like to share a couple of my favorite memories of my Dad, Eddie. Keep in mind, he died when I was sixteen so they are more childlike • I’ve always attributed my love of animals to my Dad. He was always bringing home an animal who needed a home, like the pair of bunnies who turned out to be a male and female. You know what happened, two turned into thirty; or the mallard duck who lived in our bathtub for a weekend until he could build a pen; then the beagle puppy I found in his jacket pocket. I could go on :) • He loved to fish, it’s what he did to relax. I grew up on a large pond in NH and Saturday evenings right before dark he and I carried our bamboo poles each with a bobbin to the end of the dock. A Coleman lantern for light, and a bucket for all the horned pout we could carry. Then, on Sundays, we’d have a fish fry with my grandparents • Eddie was the perfect Dad for me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.