A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Go Forth

under the open sky, and list to Nature’s teachings - William Cullen Bryant • Today’s MM theme word is “Go”. This one-footed gull never left this rock the entire time I watched him. He seemed tentative and unsure about entering the swift water of the Kennebec, as if marooned on an island. I encouraged him to move on. Go, it will be okay, I shouted in my mind’s voice. But he never did • Thank you to random_angel for hosting :) • Hopefully you won’t mind another quick Dad story. Eddie was a part-time Police Chief in the little town I grew up in. He spent the rest of his time in his woodworking shop making furniture and other household items. The shop was located near a pond and Eddie frequently left the door open for fresh air. As you can imagine there was an abundance of sawdust and wood shavings inside. One day the two mallard ducks my father had befriended outside walked into the shop. I guess they found the shavings piled up near the planer to be a perfect nesting spot. From that day on, those eggs were under full-time protection from the town’s Police Chief. The male duck had one foot like this seagull, so my Dad named him Peg-Leg. The eggs hatched and the shop’s door was always left open for their visits • Quack! Quack!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.