Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Varied Bunting

Sunday back blip

I have been trying to get a shot of this bird for years. When I hear it's been around, I have everyone at the viewing area spotting for me. I think it's like a game to them, watching me fail utterly and predicatively. But today, a young woman spotted it on the ground.  It's very small and quick but it's a gorgeous bird. This is a mating male. It's not the best possible composition with it sitting in the dirt but it's mine and I'm keeping it  :-)

The Varied Bunting barely crosses into the U.S. from Mexico and only during breeding season. For many visitors (and me), it's definitely on wish lists.  More about them on the Audubon Field Guide if you're interested.

Before driving up to the canyon, I stopped at the deli for  breakfast. It's a popular after church stop so I got there as early as I could (is 10:00 early?)  I missed most of the group but bumped into a few (of the nice) people from church who I hadn't seen since mom's funeral.  Yolanda is turning 96 next week.  Here are the dynamic duo on mom's birthday in 2016.    *I am so thankful that I have this blipfoto record to remember things like that.


Check out the blips I posted on either side of this one. Both are portraits.
Cora
Little Girl
(mono & color)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.