Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Quick Stop

Have you ever gotten off to a bad start to a day?  In my case, it was unbelievably horrible traffic and the dangerous driving of others through the first 30 minutes (of 45) for a doctor appointment.

I figured that I could use a treat before getting home in a lousy mood. So, stopped at the reservation where the the San Xavier del Bac mission is located for some fry bread. I love that native fry bread.

To my surprise, all of the scaffolding which had been in front of the east (right) side was gone. The visible part of the Mission renovation was done and it looked spectacular. I was tempted to roam around but since I had only stopped for my treat, I hadn’t taken any water with me and it was too hot. I said I wanted a selfie with the mission behind me. A woman standing with me said she would take the picture.  The man who was cooking laughingly said that it wasn’t a selfie if someone else took it.

I’m going to go back soon, when it’s a little cooler. I adore that place. Being there can’t help but lift your spirits. Plus, there’s the fry bread!!

A roadrunner was scooting around us. It’s not the best one I have gotten but it was fun to watch it looking for snacks. It must love the fry bread, too. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.