Repurposed bucket

When we bought the two year olds the joint birthday present of a sandpit I also bought some new buckets, spades and the like. I bought two of these squashy buckets which turned out to be useless. You'd think by my age I'd have got wise to the advertising that seduces me - particularly if something's described as 'Nordic' and marketed in an attractive grey/duck eggy blue colour. What you need for making decent sandcastles is a good old fashioned pail not something which collapses when small hands try to pick it up.

So I now have two new handmade hanging baskets complete with grains of sand sticking to them.  A few holes punched in the bottom, a handful of gravel in with the compost,  a trailing lobelia planted in each and they seem to be doing fine.

Glorious early morning sunshine though a definite nip in the air. I was awake very early but I don't mind as I have a day of work ahead and a few tasks to complete first. This evening I'm going to sit in a friend's garden with a glass of fizz because we can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.