New reality day 329

This picture is from the east side of our house. These have been planted by the previous residents or their families. This is Lilium bulbiferum (there's only few) surrounded by a sea of Lysimachia punctatas. I'm using the latin names as the Finnish names would tell you nothing. But it's very pretty now that I can see it flower. Last summer (28th of July) when we came, it just looked like a mess. I came very close to cut it all down, but then I realized that the Lysimachia punctata is not a weed and decided to wait how it will look. It's gorgeous. And it goes all the way on that side.



I had my morning swim at the Horse cape beach this morning. How refreshing after another very tropical night. Before that I watered all the plants outside and in the greenhouse. I was dripping in sweat. I still need to go pollinate the tomatoes that are flowering nicely.

This morning we ate first 3 strawberries. They were okay, but not that sweet. So next summer they'll have a different place in the garden.



Yesterday I saw first flower in the strawberries that I started with the seeds. They are finally growing fast.



I am at my 6th of 8 days in a row. So 3 more days to go. Then I'll have 4 days off. I just realized this morning that I also have the following Monday off. What a treat!


Yesterday when I cam home from work I had a letter from my employer. It was a kind of summer letter thanking us from all the hard work and breaking all kinds of records as a chain here in Finland. The letter included 20€ gift card to our stores and an additional app coupon to get 30% off from all items that we sell under one brand of barbecue foods, salads and sauces.

My brother-in-law will visit us during the festivities and I was kind of stressing a bit about what we'll eat over the long weekend. We don't know how many days he'll stay. Anything is fine with us, but I wanna be prepared. So now I can shop for all the chicken and sausages and side salads with a special price (we can use it only once) and then I got a special cheese cake recipe from Wisconsin. If you wanna take a look, it's here under the comments: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2852615713326104948

I just hope I don't blow it trying to make it. Thank you so much dfb24!


Next I'll pollinate and sweat again. Then some lunch and off to work to sweat some more. After work I can hopefully do the grocery shopping for the weekend. Assuming there's still food left. People are buying like it's the end of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.