Poppies among the barley

A morning spent photographing poppies with GG and then late breakfast or early lunch at Cannon Hall Garden Centre Cafe.  I have so many that I’ve struggled to select a set of them for this evening, which maybe gives a bit of variety to my weekly selection of images.  I’ll probably be able to choose again in the morning.

It’s not usual to see poppies in fields of Barley these days - something must have gone wrong with the farmers spraying regime as roughly half of the field is poppy free.  Well done to Glenys for spotting this field on her way home from Pye Flat Meadows last Friday.

I’ve managed to get my cars air con fixed this afternoon and fortunately I didn’t need the unit replacing.  Still a bit pricey but much cheaper than it could have been.  I spent an hour in Darton Park while I waited for my car.  A lovely sunny afternoon where people were enjoying the sunshine and warmth.

Driving around the district today brought home the fact That I live in a very beautiful part of the world.  It would have been lovely to share it with Ann.

P.s. I forgot to say that I saw two pheasant chicks in the garden when I returned from the ‘poppy’ shoot.  All is not yet lost … and one of them can fly a little way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.