A gift from Avery

I love quality table linen. I love with a passion the table cloth and six napkins my late mother-in-law, Avery, gave me when she visited us in 1997, having come all the way from Bangor, County Down, NI.

This is a most important set of table linen. It is from pre partition, so earlier than 1922. It had never been used and came in its original box, weakened by time. Woven into the damask are the Coats of Arms of the four provinces: Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connaught; and four land marks of Ireland: Devenish, Blarney Castle, Cashel and Slemish. In addition, there are six circles for the dinner plates, and the intricate pattern of the Book of Kells on the edges and the corners. That's a lot to fit onto one table cloth.

I gushed when I received this. I told Avery she could not have given it to a more appreciative person and that I would treasure it always. Since then the table cloth and napkins have been used and washed many times. I think of Avery, a person of great taste and discernment who knew her antiques, each time I touch them.

The extras show: the front of the box; the inside of the box with the original ribbons that held the collection together, and an explanation of the old bleach technique; and the legend with the landmarks and coats of arms of the provinces.

Thanks for hosting Bob. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.