The second half of life..

By twigs

The Survivor

Today the whole of the North Island was declared an official drought zone. Wow! That's pretty scary stuff. I've heard one report that has said the drought is the worst anyone can remember sice World War II. And it's slowly creeping south. Here at the top of the South Island we're about to be put onto water restrictions. The fields at school look like a dust-bowl, my lawn looks patchy and half dead, plants are beginning to keel over . . . . . . but still the dandelions live on!

Tough wee things! I wonder what their resilience is based on? Is it just a deep tap root or do they have other secrets?

Off to bed now - I came home early from work feeling like I'd been wrung out. The bugs have well and truly bitten me so I need vitamin C, rest and more rest.

I'm onto it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.