The second half of life..

By twigs

0800-samaritan

I slept for over 10 hours last night - I guess I must have been tired! That and the bugs have bitten more off me than I thought. I did wake feeling more energised adn fresher than I have flet recently, though I'm still feeling a bit groggy from the bugs.

Had a slow morning pottering then headed to town to do some domestic-type things. One of my ports of call was the local Bendon outlet store (Kiwi ladies will understand!) and a most unusual and somewhat bizarre scene greeted me.

I thought it a little odd as I entered the store as there appeared to be no assistants anywhere to be seen . . . . then I heard a sweet chirpy squeak. I looked around to see a black fantail swoop across the store with a couple of assistants following close behind, waving their arms. It turned out the bird had flown into the store quite a while beforehand and, try as they would, they couldn't get it to fly back towards the door.

As various customers came and went a number joined in the attempts to encourage the bird back towards the door. The shop assistants got brooms and waved them, a maori lady 'called' to it (and taught me how to mimic its call too) telling us that she used to call them to her as a child. The poor bird was visibly tiring - I had to leave as I was becoming more and more concerned for the welfare of the bird . . . .

A little more pottering at home then I went to do a few tasks at work for an hour or two. It was good to be able to work quietly without interruption - I certainly got a lot more done than if I'd tried to do it during work hours!

On the way home I noticed how the volume of grey clouds had grown and, having little else to use as my blip today, I chose to stop to get a shot of the sky across the bay. As I got out of the car a van rolled to a halt just past me. I warily headed to cross the road noticing that a young man was exiting the van through the window . . . . very odd. Then another appeared from the passenger door. The first man had a can in his hand. I crossed the road, choosing to ignore them and started to select my vantage point. The first man started to approach me . . . .

"What are you taking pictures of? he asked

"Oh - just the sky - the clouds"

"Take my picture" he said, waving his arms around and smiling broadly.

I quickly considered whether this would be wise - he smelled of alcohol. I decided that it would be OK and quickly took a couple of shots which I showed him. He smiled and laughed. He had a great smile.

Before I had a chance to get too far into a conversation with him the second man approached waving $20.

"We've run out of petrol and this guy is going to go to the petrol station to get us some fuel. Would you be able to give him a ride there? It's only just up the road"

My mind began to race . . . . . were they up to something? Would I regret it if I said 'ok'? Would I regret it if I refused?

As the mind does, I weighed things up in just a few milliseconds and decided to say 'yes' - they seemed to be more into fun than anything threatening. We hopped into my car, he still carrying his can of bourbon, and drove the kilometre or so to the petrol station. Having got to the station and realising he had $20 but no petrol can to carry the petrol in, he tried to bargain with the attendant, offering him his (very nice) Samsung phone to keep until he could return in exchange for a petrol can. Nope. $20 to borrow the can, returnable when the can is returned. Company policy. No can do.

He looked worried so I suggested I take him to the next petrol station which was a little further along the road. I said I'd drive him back to his mates too so he didn't have to worry about the walk. He agreed.

This time his phone was acceptable collateral and he emerged from inside the store with a big smile. He filled up the petrol can then hopped back into my car, carefully picking his can of bourbon up from where he'd placed it for security on the forecourt. We chatted on teh short drive back.

As we approached his mates there were some muffled cheers. His mate asked me

"Has he asked you for your number yet?!"

If I was a quick thinker I'd have told him it was 0800-samaritan! We laughed, shook hands and I drove off.

In the 15 minutes I spent with this young man I learned he was an ex-pat Pom like me, he'd left England when he was 17, he loved it in New Zealand now, he used to be "a bit of a ruffian" in England . . . . stealing cars and the like, but not now.

This was one of those encounters I'll remember - some guys in need and an opportunity to help :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.