RIP AUNTY BRENDA

Sad news this morning.  My Aunt from Suffolk passed away in Suffolk.  

She was my Mum's youngest sister and it is so sad that she should be the first to go.  There were 4 girls and 1 boy, Jack and then Mum, Stella, Brenda and Joy. 

I found out on Tuesday morning, just before the Blipmeet that she had been taken into her local hospice in Ipswich, so have been kind of expecting it but it was much quicker that I thought.


After I had just passed my driving test, back in the 1980s, I had to drive all the way from Somerset to Suffolk to pick Hubby up from Harwich (he was still in the Royal Navy then) and as Aunty Brenda and Uncle John lived in Ipswich they put me up, looked after me and ensured I knew exactly where to go.

She had lung cancer (asbestosis), which is so sad because she was a very healthy eater (a vegetarian), never smoked or drank and kept fit.  Apparently my Uncle John (who sadly passed away about 20 years ago, not from asbestosis) used to work in a foundry many many years ago and Aunty Brenda contracted the disease just by simply washing and handling his clothes!!!

She visited Mum in 2018 and again in 2019 and was planning on visitnig last year but obvioulsy couldn't because of covid.  I took Mum to visit her in Suffolk about 8 years ago and she looked us incredibly well.

I  apologise for the very old photo, but this is me at Aunty Brenda and Uncle John's wedding, a much loved and handled photo as you can see by it's poor condition.  Mum is her Matron of Honour, all looking down at me who had dashed up to the front table to see them all apparently.  I was all mucky 'cos my clothes had been done up wrong (by a neighbour) and I had been stuffing my face with jelly and cake, much to Mum's mortification and Brenda's hilarity.

A sad day but with very happy memories - another huge chunk of my childhood in Suffolk and beyond gone.

Anyway I hope you are all well and staying safe.  I do so hope you all have a fabulous day.  Take care.

PS  The extra is Mum on the right with Brenda at The Inn on The Lake in Ullswater taken in 2019 on Brenda's last visit up here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.