carliewired

By carliewired

Beside the Red Bridge

On the morning side
of the Red Bridge, police and
ambulance at work

~ carliewired

I collected my usual breakfast at the drive-thru downtown and arrived at Pioneer Park just after 7 AM. My surprise was the heavy presence of police and emergency vehicles already quietly at work on the beach. Lights were flashing but only officers on foot were moving about. I sat in my vehicle having breakfast while the activity moved around me. The firetruck left first. Several police vehicles slipped away one by one.The ambulance parked on the sand was the last to leave. When it was all back to normal, I ventured out for a brief walk along the Rivers Trail.

I got a peek at my mountains across the river. I came back to Pioneer Park and left my quilted heart on a bench nearest the Red Bridge. I stood by the beach to watch the dogs enjoying the water. Would that we each had the heart of a dog, the world would be such a better place. 

The Canada geese on the Thompson River had themselves all lined up perfectly and they stayed away from the beach. One young man came to take a dip in the river. I'm sure it's well warmed in the shallows now. 

I headed home and was back in my recliner before 8:30. There's been no announcements on air or online to explain what was going on at Pioneer Park this morning. 

It was 25 C when I arrived home. We can expect a high of 36 C today with temperatures rising over the weekend. There have been three new wildfires reported in our region. We're experiencing some haze in our valleys from the smoke. We have been issued a heat warning beginning tomorrow (Saturday) through to Wednesday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.