carliewired

By carliewired

Garden, But No Butterflies

Just a loop off the
Rivers Trail, with tended and 
untended flowers

~ carliewired

I started my jaunt on the north side of the pedestrian bridge by McArthur Island. I could see across to my mountains and to the west edge of the Butterfly Garden. I walked back to the island across the bridge and began watching for water fowl. The Canada geese seemed to be gone. All that's left of them is the caked-on evidence along the pathway and grass. A few pairs of mallards tuck themselves into the landscape. I watched a pair preening and enjoying the morning sun. 

The Butterfly Garden is really coming on now. (It has been well fertilized!) It is mostly perennials with a few annuals set in to fill the gaps. The delphiniums and lilies were stunning today. Around the perimeter of the garden, what is wild and untended fills in. There's yarrow, morning glory and wild rose left to their own devices. I attached my quilted heart to a tree along the edge of the garden. 

I collected my breakfast at the drive-thru and headed back home. It's already 25 C mid-morning with a high of 32 C forecast for today. 

I have an appointment for a haircut at noon, then I will be inside hiding from the heat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.