Schubert Drive and Bridges

The morning is bright
and hazy - the river is
cold, muddy and deep

~ carliewired

I finished my morning coffee just before 7 and stepped out on my deck for a shot of my mountains. The sun was up and the sky was almost too bright to look at. I decided to have a look along the North Thompson River. I drove down to Schubert Drive and parked near the bridges at the north end. 

I caught a robin out hunting for his breakfast. As I walked along the Rivers Trail near the Halston Bridge, I looked up to see two small Canada flags attached to tree branches about 10 feet above my head. I wondered how someone managed to attach them on each side of the trail. 

I walked to the north side of the railway bridge in time to see a freight train crossing to the terminus on the east side of the bridge. The pusher in the middle of the train was a Canadian Pacific engine. I'm always surprised to find them on this, the Canadian National railway line. 

There was a small group of people sitting on the edge of the river bank that made me a bit nervous. I could see a fellow with a dog heading in my direction on the Rivers Trail. I waited for him to come alongside me and I asked him if he'd mind if I'd walk along with him. We had a friendly chat as we headed back towards my parking spot. 

I drove further south on Schubert Drive to the lookout across from the school. I looked back to the city and upriver to the bridge crossings. We are reminded to take great care along the river in runoff as it can make the river banks unstable. The North Thompson River is very cold with the snowmelt coming right out of the mountains. It is running deep, fast and dirty. If someone fell in, their survival would be most unlikely. They may not be found. 

I took some shots of the wild flowers and the cultivated flowers in the lookout. I left my last quilted heart of the week on a fence post beside the Rivers Trail. 

I was home for 8 AM. I'm expecting some help with jobs in my house today. It will be nice to have company for lunch. 

We can expect a mainly sunny day with a high of 26 C. I will want my air conditioning on for this weekend as temperatures will increase. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.