Full - McArthur Island, North Side

River levels are
full to overflowing so
we are on alert

~ carliewired

I finished my morning coffee before 6 and headed out the door by 6:30. I thought I'd have a quick look at the north side of McArthur Island Park before grocery shopping. 

As I drove into the park's drive, a small flock of parenting Canada geese herded their offspring across the road in front of me. They were moving from one side of the slough over the roadway to the other side of the slough. I haven't seen Canada geese on the north side for several weeks so I was surprised to see them. 

The Canada geese are divided into two groups now. There are the adults with children and the adults without children. These two groups move about separately. 

The slough is full. There is no shore. Water fowl is either on the water or scrambling/flying up the bank to the pathways and playing fields above the slough. 

I walked along the Butterfly Garden noting the flooding on the lowest path. The blooms are coming on and will soon be something to enjoy. The city workers have returned the hibiscus to the garden. It winters in a greenhouse. I will be watching for its first bloom of this summer. 

I left my quilted heart on a bench near the slough and headed off to get my groceries. 

I am home with some jobs today. I hope to spend some time with my daughter this afternoon. 

We have another day of mixed sun and cloud with a high expected of 22 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.