carliewired

By carliewired

Breakfast Above the City

No cooler above
the valleys, but the views can
not compare at all

~ carliewired

I collected my usual breakfast at the drive-thru at 7:30. The line-up there was long, a bit of a surprise on a Saturday morning. I'm thinking everyone who's free is heading out of town today. The lakes and rivers will be busy for sure. In spite of our dry and hot conditions, campfires have not been banned, so camping will be a real attraction as well. 

I drove east and straight up the road to the Mount Lolo area. I've painted in this location. There are two lovely ponds that attract wild fowl. The road leading there has livestock and great open spaces. 

My first stop was Schedam Flats to watch the horses. They arrange themselves in small herds. Today, it was obvious that insects were bothering them. They were tossing their heads, flicking their tails and kicking up dust. 

As I turned onto Cold Creek Road I encountered cattle on the road. Mamas and calves were wandering about grazing and looking for shade. Livestock is fenced in this area with cattle guards across junctions. Somehow a group had escaped and were trying to reunite with others in the herd. I got a photo from above which looked like a meet-up was planned. 

I parked beside the largest of the ponds to enjoy my breakfast and watch the Canada geese and mallards. The ducks were hunkered down beside the pond. The geese were foraging through the tall grasses. Every so often a head would pop up and scout around. Someone had tucked goose feathers into the fencing beside the pond. 

This was, at most, a 30 minute interlude in my day. I feel re-energized. 

It was already 26 C at 8:30 beside the pond. We are to expect a high of 40 C today and higher for tomorrow. I will be inside keeping cool. Our hillsides are already losing their green as they dry out. The sagebrush and wild grasses are standing tall and are drying out as well. Fire is a constant risk. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.