The View From TRU

A summer morning
is a tantalizing lure
for my camera

~ carliewired

I was awake just after 4. There was that peachy-pink glow on the horizon and just a hint of small cloud. I thought about going back to sleep but gave up. I had an idea to drive up the hill to the university to watch the sunrise from there. I was out the door, without coffee, by 4:30.

I crossed the bridge to the south shore. Traffic was almost non-existent at this hour. My surprise was finding a very handsome buck looking back at me from the edge of the Mission Flats Road. I stopped right on the road and popped out with my camera. (This could NEVER happen during normal work hours - I and my car would be demolished!) I watched him cross the road to join his buddy that I hadn't seen initially. They dove right into their breakfast paying no mind to me at all. 

I continued on to the university parking lot on the north side of the campus. It provides an expansive view of both river valleys. I took enough shots to stitch a panorama, then sat in my car to watch the light come into the valleys. I watch for the bright glow to show me where the sun will appear. Once I catch those first sunbeams over the mountains I am satisfied and I can head for home. 

I was back in my kitchen making coffee at 5:30 before the sun hit my deck. 

I have more office work to do with my daughter today. I have no hearts made to release for tomorrow so I am behind. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 31 C expected. I might appreciate my air conditioner this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.