Checking in at McArthur Island

It's a sunny day
for us again...sky is blue
and the river, high

~ carliewired

I slept until 6 this morning missing the first rays of sunshine. I picked up some breakfast on the way to the office at 6:30. My daughter and I had some early morning duties. When completed by 8, I was off to McArthur Island. 

I drove into the park on the north side. I stopped across from the Butterfly Garden to catch a family of Canada geese moving along the pathway. There are very few to be seen now. I wonder where they've all gone. 

I drove around to the southside. I see signs up to notify the public that a portion of the walkway on the northwest corner is flooded and closed to pedestrians. 

I saw the sprinklers soaking the playing fields this morning. It seems odd to be irrigating while part of the island is flooding. My mountains looked very blue this morning. 

I parked near the boat launch to walk along the Rivers Trail and view the marmots. They, like the Canada geese, spend most of their time consuming the grass. I caught one adult with a huge mouthful of grass. One approached me looking for food. Several were sunning themselves along the river bank. 

I got a view of the Thompson River looking back to the downtown area. It looks more like a lake than a river when it is so full. We are told that our rivers have peaked over the weekend. Most of the snow load in the mountains has runoff. Unless we get an abundance of rain, we should breathe a sigh of relief that the flood danger has passed for this year.

I left a quilted heart on a bench overlooking the river. The batch this week has some small differences - the middle of the strata and the buttons. I'd forgotten that Friday is our national holiday so there's five. 

I was home with my feet up by 9. I need a trip to the quilt store for some batting otherwise it's an at home day for me.  

We might expect a sunny day with a high of 35 C. Overnight could bring some showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.