carliewired

By carliewired

The Good, The Bad, The Almost...

Our valleys will be
sizzling today for sure!
Temperatures will soar

~ carliewired

I was up, out the door and in the drive-thru lane before 7 AM. It was already 25 C. There is a haze in the air from our heat and some wildfire smoke in our region. 

I wanted a drive out of the city. I drove up Rose Hill Road from its north end. It's a quick climb above Kamloops. At the first rise, where a construction company is working on an expensive subdivision, I could see over the South Thompson Valley to Mt. Paul and Mt. Peter on the other side. 

 I stopped for wildflowers at the next rise. It was also a convenient spot to stop to eat my breakfast in shade. There were several fields with cut hay. No doubt it will dry out well this week as our temperatures rise and be ready for baling in no time at all. 

I caught a photo of a young buck crossing into a field. It is a bad photo taken into the sun through my windshield. The second buck I encountered launched himself across the new mown hay as soon as I rolled down my window. It is an 'almost' photo. The third buck that I met disappeared over a hill faster than I could roll down the window. 

The weathered and dead trees that remain standing through all seasons really amaze me. There are little lakes, ponds and watering holes along this route. It's a bonus if I can catch a reflection in them. 

My last stop enroute was for a shot of the red barn. I have painted it and photographed it many times. Who doesn't like a red barn? 

I came down off the hill and straight to the car wash. I'd kicked up a lot of dust along the gravel road this morning. 

Back at home it was already 30 C. We are told we can expect a high of 42 C today. A friend joked that we might just as well be in Arizona this week as temperatures are closely matched. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.