High Water - Riverside

It was a grey start
to my morning, cooler with
a dark, brooding sky

~ carliewired

I was up at 6 and out the door at 6:30 without my morning coffee. I had decided I should take a look at the water level beside Riverside Park this morning. 

I drove down into the park at the bottom of 3rd Avenue. A section of the parking lot has been corralled with orange sawhorses to keep the public out of the water hazard. I had been wondering where the Canada geese had gone. I had my answer this morning. There was just a small flock on the walkway beside the river. They were grazing in the grass as they like to do. Some walked over to examine the big puddle in the parking lot. 

A man with two dogs on leashes arrived (in our NO DOG park) and the geese walked off into the high river with some protest. They clustered on the river watching the dogs and owner retreat into the parking lot. A freight train that had been sitting idle on the railway bridge suddenly shunted and crashed, but this seemed to disturb the geese far less than the presence of the dogs. 

I also noticed the overflowing garbage can and wondered why this should be evident on a Tuesday. Then I moved off to the middle of the park to discover more of same. I took note of the unfinished renovations of the park ( a mess for Canada Day on Friday) and decided photos were too dismal to consider. The city announced yesterday that the spray park/water park will not be available until September due to "supply issues". I am not understanding why a project begins without all the materials in hand. Poor planning! The old water park could have been managed for another summer. 

I left a quilted heart on a bench near the children's playground. As I did I caught sight of a fire under a tree on the north side of the playground. Some young fellow with a bicycle was with it (making breakfast?) but it made me very uncomfortable. I'd left my phone in the car so I made my way back to it and reported the incident. I was told the fire department would be taking care of that immediately. 

I picked up some breakfast and a large coffee on the way home. I was back inside for the 7:30 news.

I'm hoping my daughter will be here to help me with a project this morning. It's a dismal day so I'm happy to remain inside.

We are looking at a high of 25 C today with a good chance of showers and a risk of thunderstorms. I hope this does not raise our river levels once again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.