carliewired

By carliewired

90 F/ 32 C

A quiet morning 
to enjoy the sun rising
and flowers blooming

~carliewired

I was out the door at 5:30 thinking I could make the best of a sunny, if not a little hazy summer morning. I drove off to Vantage Point near the airport. 

The airport was very quiet, but the Canadian Pacific railway on the far shore was not. I took a look to my mountains and left a quilted heart on the last fence post in the row. I looked over the railings to the float plane dock to discover two people sitting there. I left them in peace to turn my attention to the wildflowers growing in the area. 

I found chicory in its summer sky-blue. Definitely a weed, a native of Eurasia, it is edible and is grown commercially. Its roasted roots can be used as a coffee substitute. 

Crested wheatgrass was introduced from Russia. It can be seeded for forage and erosion control. Here, it does well in our arid region as it is drought-tolerant. 

Yellow salsify also does very well in our dry lands. It was brought to North America around 1900 as a food source and an ornamental plant. It is considered an invasive weed in many places. Its flower head becomes a large globe of seeds like a dandelion.

I'm home with my feet up. It will be a quiet day until my daughter returns this evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.