carliewired

By carliewired

86 F/ 30 C

Following the North
Thompson River to the wee
ferry crossing  there

~carliewired

I was up just after 6 with a beautiful sunny day unfolding before me. I decided I'd take a run out on Westsyde Road to the McLure ferry, then drive back home on the #5 Highway. 

I kept my eyes peeled for deer as they wander freely in the agricultural lands in the north valley. Before I'd even left the city limits, I caught three bucks in a front yard. 

I pulled onto a side road where we have a piece of undeveloped land. I wanted to see if the neighbour had taken the hay off yet, but he hadn't. Our neighbourhood here is suffering drought like the rest of the region. The farmers and ranchers here have a failing water system for irrigation. The system is in the hands of the city which has not maintained it properly for several decades. Now it is critical as it is falling apart and not functioning properly. 

I drove on along Westsyde Road spotting many deer along the way. The breed with the large ears are called Mule Deer for obvious reasons. 

I stopped for a view to Jensen's Island with its little bridge across the river. The wildflowers are now plentiful but are drying out fast due to the drought. 

As I approached the ferry landing I got a shot of the ferry crossing the North Thompson River. I didn't have but minutes to wait for it to return to collect me. The river is still high but the ferryman said it had gone down about 5 feet in the last week. 

I got a look down river as I was crossing, then drove  off on the east side to get my last shot of the ferry.  Then I was onto #5 Highway heading south to Kamloops.

What haunts me taking photos are the ones that got away. Today, it was a view of a doe leading her twin fawns along the far shore of the river. I had no place to pull over and I was driving highway speeds. Sad to miss that one!

I'm in for the day. A nap may well be in order. My daughter should be leaving today to visit friends in the Cariboo for a couple of days. The house will feel empty without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.